Sherry McBride has spent 49 years of her life as a Registered Nurse – and is a familiar face in Lompoc. She has been a Certified Pediatric Nurse Practitioner for 45 years, many of those spent at the former Sansum clinic on North H Street. Sherry now works for Lompoc Health – North H Center.

She was hired in 1990 by Sansum when she came to Lompoc “looking for a nice, clean, laid back community to raise my four children.” She said she has never regretted her decision.

What is your favorite part about your job?

This is a rewarding career. I look forward every day to being with the kids. They lift my spirits and make me laugh. Every door I open, every face I see, reminds me of my great fortune. It keeps me young at heart.

What is your dream job/career?

My dream job/career is the one I have right now. My favorite role in pediatric healthcare is teaching the parent to be confident in their parenting skills. I want parents and children to feel that together we will build a solid foundation where communication, understanding, and trust are the essential tools in their child's physical and emotional well-being.

What hobbies or interests do you have outside of work?

My hobbies include reading, gardening, and quilting. I spend the weekend in the backyard nurturing my flowers and my evening's quilting when I can.

What is something people don’t know about you?

Something you might not know about me is that my husband and I have two airplanes at the airport that are on the fix-it list this year. He is the pilot/mechanic and I am the flight attendant (joke) and part-time navigator/copilot. I have flown solo and I have skydived in my youth.

If you had unlimited funds, what would you do?

If I had unlimited funds I would finance two projects. One would be a volunteer teen nursing group for the hospital. In the old days, they were called Candy Stripers or Candle Lighters. The program launched many a young nurse into a medical career. It would give young people an opportunity to volunteer after school or evenings and weekends to see if a medical career might be of interest to them and would be of help to the hospital. It's where I got my start. I worked hard and caught on quickly.

The other project I would do is set up a safe place where youngsters and teens could go after school and play sports or study or just hang out and play/ listen to music. There would be adult supervision and maybe even tutors and basic resource counseling and health services. Wouldn't that be great! Get community services involved and maybe kids could learn instruments with volunteer musicians. Learn crafts. Network for odd jobs.

Speaking of projects, I would definitely fund music back into the elementary and middle schools. One talented musician could teach a number of kids. It’s been done in the past!

What is your idea of a perfect day?

My perfect day is being with all my family, children, grandchildren and friends almost anywhere and anytime.